Dragon Tattoo Girl, the movie

“Fuhgeddaboutit” (Al Pacino as DONNIE BRASCO). I’m referring to the movie The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo based on the book of the same name by Stieg Larsson. A friend told me the movie was subtitled (it was made in Sweden), and with a sly grin said it follows the book faithfully.

It does that. There is some nudity (OMG! OMG!), sex (love type), and brutal sex (disgusting rape type). There is a girl with a dragon tattoo. (A larger tattoo than I recall being mentioned in the book, but it makes a point.) If it wasn’t for the tattoo, its mention in the title, and my prior knowledge having read the book, I would have thought this movie was The Man From The Magazine Solves A Mystery.

Of course, can you name a decent novel that hasn’t suffered somewhat being brought to cinematic screen? I concede you cannot get inside the character’s thoughts the way you can in a novel. Still, I’m not sure that if I hadn’t read the book I would have had the slightest idea of what was going on.

That also, however, could have been due to English SUBTITLES! I almost ALWAYS hate subtitles, with the exception of a few beautifully shot Chinese movies. This confirmed it. They are SO distracting (subtitles). Even if you don’t look away occasionally, which I’m inclined to do at home watching this ON DEMAND via Comcast, you cannot give your full attention to the scene photography while you are reading the script at the bottom.

I would much prefer to see out-of-sync lips speaking my native tongue. Regardless, I think the jumpy, gappy, story line conversion (jumpy-gappy? How’s that for native tongue?) made this movie suffer more than any subtitles.

I don’t recommend the movie and will not pursue seeing the others. I will eventually read the 3rd book in the series, just to see how the trilogy ends.

 

About JohnRH

Retired, avid winter skier, avid reader, traveler (avidly). :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

