THE CITY AND THE CITY by China Mieville, part 2

I reviewed the first half of this book HERE.  It is classified as science fiction and received the 2010 Hugo Award for Best Novel.  The author calls his work “Weird” fiction.  It is a murder mystery with more than enough twist in the space-time continuum thingy to qualify as sci-fi.

Whatever it is, I couldn’t put the book down and was ever more as intrigued through the second half as I was the first half.  Perhaps I was hoping for more answers.  I did finish thinking there were some large gaps in the sci-fi plausibility aspect however.  Sci-fi doesn’t have to prove everything it does, but it does usually seem believable or plausible.  It seemed to me there were too many unanswered questions at the end, but without discussing “spoilers” I’ll leave it at that.  There is probably a discussion forum I could find somewhere in the Internet universe that is engaged in these questions.  It’s possible I read too fast and skipped some major clues but I’m reluctant to read the first third again to see if this is so.

Despite the gaps, which do serve to piqué one’s sci-fi interest, I recommend the book.  The author has written several other novels also.

About JohnRH

Retired, avid winter skier, avid reader, traveler (avidly). :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Books, Science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

