Wooden Ladder. (Photos.) They don’t make them like this anymore. (Do they?) (Updated 03/2/2013.)

These shots were taken in 1999.  I wish I still had the ladder.  The beauty of wood construction.

(Click on a photo to view in a separate window.  User your browser’s Back function to return to this post.)

MVC-008F - Version 2MVC-007F - Version 2MVC-010FMVC-009FMVC-011F

[Update:]  While composing this post I stumbled upon a website selling antique ladders here.  The variety of ladders pictured is intriguing.  You have to register to see the prices.  Since only 11 of nearly 60 ladders are less than $1,000 I think I’ll pass on that.  You can select a price category and see the ladders in that price range.  The single ladder in the $20,000-$50,000 range is the Bernard Rolling Library Ladder.  It won’t work for me as I don’t have a rolling library to put it in.  🙂

The camera used was a Sony Digital Mavica MVC-FD91 (if memory serves me). It used 3.5″ floppy disks for storage.  I took most photos at a 640 x 480 resolution.   When visiting Amsterdam (not where these shots were taken) I realized how many disks I was using and had to search around for a box of 50 disks to supplement my photography.  Ahh the dawn of the digital age.  I was so resourceful.

The camera (taken with a higher res camera):

Sandy Pix and Mavica 014Sandy Pix and Mavica 008I don’t have the camera any longer either.  It belongs in a museum!

About JohnRH

Retired, avid winter skier, avid reader, traveler (avidly). :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Antiques, Hobbies, Photography, Recreation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

