Summit County Mid-Late Autumn – Photography 101 forever

[CATEGORIES: Photography, Travel Photography.]
[Click on pictures to enlarge.  Click on enlargement to get realllllly big.  Find your way back to this page somehow.  🙂 ]

iPhone5 pic I'm sorry to say.  Taken along Dillon Dam bike path.  Background is Peak 1 by Frisco.

iPhone5 pic I’m sorry to say. Taken along Dillon Dam bike path. Background is Peak 1 by Frisco.

Yes it is barely a week since I posted about early autumn in Colorado but things change fast here.  My guess is a decent Colorado autumn averages about 2 weeks, though those weeks can overlap 4 or more between north, central, and southern parts of the state.

My efforts to learn manual aperture, shutter speed, and ISO settings on my new Nikon D5200 have been a DISASTER.  Rather than show you 500 examples of good and bad shots (bad and not-as-bad?), knowing you can find 500,000 examples on review sites all over the web, I will attempt to show some of the better shots with only a few bad included.  My main problem?  OVER-exposure.  (But not the two following.)

A little good, bad, ugly:

It’s all about the trees:

f/8 vs f/14, (mid-sized aperture vs. small) other settings the same:  (Scroll down and click View Full Size to do so, click again for super zoom.  Those houses in the center must have some views!)

Wrapping up:

Coming soon: Dog, Dove, and Depth of Field (Caw! Caw!) (Tesla).  Stay tuned.

About JohnRH

Retired, avid winter skier, avid reader, traveler (avidly). :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in Animal Photography, Colorado, Photography, Recreation, Silverthorne, Summit County, Travel, Travel photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summit County Mid-Late Autumn – Photography 101 forever

  1. I absolutely LOVE my iPhone 5….some of the best pictures I’ve ever taken were taken with the built-in camera on my phone. I only wish I had such amazing views to use it on! Great shots!!

  2. Pingback: Summit County INDIAN SUMMER | John's Space …..

Leave a Reply

