The future we’re building — and boring | Elon Musk, on YouTube

I hate to break from my stream of mundane travel blogs on Scotland/Ireland but I just viewed this TED Talk with Elon Musk and I want to share it with you.  If even just 1 or 2 of you view it I will have made a real difference in the world.

Musk, best know perhaps for producing Tesla electric automobiles and SpaceX rockets, is a visionary who is executing his ideas in the present.  He discusses some of them in this 40 minute interview.

I watch very little YouTube or TED Talk.  I highly recommend you watch this video.

If you can’t get to this, google ‘The future we’re building — and boring | Elon Musk’ to find it.

A couple of tidbits:

“There have to be reasons you get up in the morning and want to live.”

Throughout this interview he makes clear what there is to live for.

“Sustainable energy has to happen no matter what.”
“If you don’t have sustainable energy then you have unsustainable energy and eventually you will run out.”

I would come out of retirement to work for this man.

I welcome your comments, especially after you have viewed the video.

About JohnRH

Retired, avid winter skier, avid reader, traveler (avidly). :)
Gallery | This entry was posted in News, Opinion, Philosophy, Self responsibility, Technology, Time and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The future we’re building — and boring | Elon Musk, on YouTube

  1. JohnRH says:

    Speaking of coming out of retirement to work for Musk, I’m not sure I would pass muster: http://voiceglance.com/how-elon-musk-hires-intensity-required/

  2. cindy knoke says:

    He didn’t lose his creativity like most people do as they leave childhood and become adults. He has a combination of IQ (ability) and creativity (vision).

  3. Leighton Dorey says:

    We watched the day after it went on…indeed wonderful

    When we are dead ..will we need sustainable energy?.

    I think you and I are unlikely to run out of energy…

    Fusion is coming….or something better…

    If we can stop all the waste in war, welfare and democrats and put the money into basic research we will find a bet we will find a better answer….I am not revealing it now

    On Fri, May 12, 2017 at 6:30 AM, John’s Space ….. wrote:

    > JohnRH posted: “I hate to break from my stream of mundane travel blogs on > Scotland/Ireland but I just viewed this TED Talk with Elon Musk and I want > to share it with you. If even just 1 or 2 of you view it I will have made > a real difference in the world. Musk, best k” >

    • JohnRH says:

      (Re)-allocation of resources would certainly help. Musk didn’t seem to think energy cells in cars were in the near future. Better batteries would help, as would synthetic lithium to power them. TBC…

  4. Tina Schell says:

    I have a good friend who is also a Musk admirer and he sent me the video the day it came out. Quite a visionary – wish we had a few more just like him.

  5. ralietravels says:

    We need his creative type of thinking.
    Having said that, in another life for a few years I was a “futurist” for a major Dow industrial. I learned predictions rarely come true — because people come up with creative solutions noone has even considered. Therefore, I would not put too much focus on any one particular idea.
    The second and most important thing I learned was “short-term prophecies are self-fulfilling; long-term prophecies are self-correcting.” For example, if the consensus is a commodity price is going to soon go up, people will begin to stockpile, there will be a shortage and the price will go up. If the consensus is there is going to be a long-term shortage, people will invest, new methods will develop [fracking?], production will increase, and the shortage won’t appear.

Leave a Reply

