Lens-Artists Challenge #121 – Focus On The Subject

[Categories: Photography, Photography 101 Forever]

The Lens-Artists Challenge is hosted this week by Patti.

She presents quite the scholarly tutorial.

Hmm.
Focus On The Subject.
Filling The Frame.
Crop The Shot.

Lens-Artists Challenges with subtle nuances that nearly escape me.

Given that I (we) were given one week’s notice of the next L-A subject, I must confess I only started looking for photos for the Saturday start on the Friday night prior, though I had a few in mind.

No doubt, FOCUS as a theme will yield a plethora, if not a veritable surfeit, of photos with BOKEH, the blurry background photo that forces you to Focus On The Subject.

Beau-kuh, beau-kuh, beau-kuh, if I’m pronouncing it correctly. Not boooo-kayyyy.

I suspect we will see numerous closeups of flowers, Man’s (and Woman’s) eternal beautifier, since they lend themselves well to bokeh. Here is my nod to THAT:

I, however, will mostly interpret the theme as narrowing the field of view to emphasize a particular object. The following four shots of an abandoned jeep illustrate what I mean (gives me the Willys, remember?, get it?) :

Another favorite of mine that I’ve posted before is Lion of Lucerne, “a rock relief in Lucerne, Switzerland, designed by Bertel Thorvaldsen and hewn in 1820–21 by Lukas Ahorn. It commemorates the Swiss Guards who were massacred in 1792 during the French Revolution, when revolutionaries stormed the Tuileries Palace in Paris. It is one of the most famous monuments in Switzerland, visited annually by about 1.4 million tourists.” (Wikipedia)

A Focus On The Subject of the recumbent head and furrowed brow perfectly illustrate ‘pathos’, if that word was part of my regular, or even irregular, vocabulary:

Finally, my since passed Westie did not have Angry Eyes, even though it looks like it.

“Time, time and again I see you staring down at me
Now, then and again I wonder what it is that you see
With those angry eyes
Well, I bet you wish you could cut me down
With those angry eyes” –Loggins and Messina

“Here’s lookin’ at you, kid.” –Bogart

Stay safe, be well. Be kind to one another. Keep in focus!

 

52 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #121 – Focus On The Subject

  1. This is wonderful, John. I love your examples as you zero in closer and closer on the car and the monument. Beautifully done. I vote for the close-ups in both cases. As for your Westie…what a sweetheart.

    Like

  2. The jeep is very interesting. How did it get there? A breakdown? An abandonment? An insurance claim? It certainly made me focus on it. I love the lion of Lucerne! Nice responses to this challenge John.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well done John – you interpreted the theme perfectly! I’d never seen the lion before and you are so right, it’s the very definition of pathos! I cannot imaging creating such an emotional creature out of a piece of rock! And of course you closed with one of my favorite songs ever!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Tina. It’s nice that the lion is separated by fence and water, so people aren’t climbing all over it. L&M are old favorites of mine. I happened to see Jim Messina in concert locally about a year ago and he did that song.

      Like

Leave a comment