Lens-Artists Challenge #149 – Cool Colors – Blue and Green

[Categories: Photography, Photography 101 Forever]

Per Tina “This week we are returning to the color wheel and its cooler members, which include blue (primary) green (secondary) and blue-green or blue-violet aka purple (tertiary).”

Yes, what she said. Such as lilacs, which in my less-than-tropical clime, are just now blooming in front of my condo-minimum.

My musical introduction to lilacs was via the Chad Mitchell Trio:

“Green grow the lilacs, all sparkling with dew
Green grow the lilacs, and green is their hue
Each lilac of green turns to one that is blue
Love, like the lilacs, can change colors too”

Elsewhere in the ‘hood:

I lovvvvvve the smell of lilacs in the air.

“I can feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord
And I’ve been waiting for this moment for all my life, Oh Lord
Can you feel it coming in the air tonight, oh Lord, oh Lord”

–In The Air Tonight by Phil Collins

Stay safe:

48 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #149 – Cool Colors – Blue and Green

  1. Beautifully captured John! I too ADORE the smell of lilac. Actually got suckered into buying lilac spray for my pillow which is supposed to improve your sleep. Didn’t make any difference on that front but I do love the smell.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely photos, John. I wish I had some lilacs around me. When I was a kid in northern New York, our neighbor had a lilac tree and several of its branches hung over into our driveway. My mother often helped herself to a branch and put it in a vase in the dining room. In no time, the whole house would smell like lilacs.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous, John! I can smell them now…through my window. My whole garden is covered in lilacs right now – the most beautiful time of the year. And the most wonderful scent!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment