Lens-Artists Challenge #294 – Before and After

[The Lens Artists Challenge is hosted this week by Johnbo.]

I tend to be an originalist, attempting to capture what the eyes see. The camera doesn’t always cooperate. The following comparison was taken 2 seconds apart, the left earliest, 1/60s, 1 ev, the right 1/120s, 0 ev, both at the whim of the iPhone X in 2019. Obviously different.

My memory being what it isn’t, I no longer recall WHAT I was seeing! 🤷‍♂️

Most of my modifications resort to crop and zoom. Crop crop crop, zoom, zoom, rinse, repeat.

The following comparison was two RAW photos that exported as fairly small jpegs, though I didn’t want the original large size anyway.

When all else fails, there’s always FOOD!

Enjoy.

( 😘 )

23 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #294 – Before and After

  1. You can never go wrong with photographing food!

    I must say, though, the golden hour is my main attraction in editing. I can’t resist leaving the images alone. 🙂

    I love your take on the sunset. Patience can sometimes be rewarded by waiting, or maybe the wait makes you realize that you already captured the best shot of the evening.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great examples, John. I am surprised that cropping doesn’t make your images grainy or soft. I love the sunset (or sunrise) photo! The second shot of the set is so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great images. Personally, I don’t enjoy editing one bit though. Maybe adjusting a horizon or cropping a bit. Then – that’s it. The only solution to an iffy photo after that is junking the entire thing. I know for lots of people, getting involved in clever editing brings a great deal of satisfaction. Just … not me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It sounds like most of us would like some pizza after seeing your mouth-watering example. I wouldn’t want a bite of cactus, even though I love the picture. Sunsets are almost always beautiful, and yours is no exception.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment