Florida, May 2014, Pt. III – Sea World Orlando

[Categories: Photography, Travel Photography, Photography 101 Forever]

[Gallery/multiple photos: Click any photo to enlarge.  See photo info lower right corner.  Click View Full Size to do that. Single photos: Click on any photo to enlarge.  Click again for extra zoom detail.  Use your Back Page method to return.]

Sea World Orlando

My go-to lens on this vacation was the 18-55mm (18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 AF-S DX VR NIKKOR Zoom Lens).  All but a very few at Sea World were taken with this lens.  I’m sure I  missed many opportunities for the 35mm f/1.8 and the 55-200mm zoom but I was keeping busy and the 18-55mm proved very versatile.

DSC_1487 - Version 2

Aliens?
Aliens?
Pretty in pink.
Pretty in pink.
Do these Orcas know we think they are kissing?
Do these Orcas know we think they are kissing?
In an ideal world I suppose all animals would live in their natural habitat.  In an ideal world...
In an ideal world I suppose all animals would live in their natural habitat. In an ideal world…

I’m experimenting with off-site ‘cloud’ storage since some sites want to charge a bundle when you store a zillion photos.  (The nerve!)  Kudos to Microsoft and their OneDrive cloud for providing inexpensive storage, for now at least, and the software coding allowing secure sharing without the cumbersome guest account requirement.  Apple, Google, Flickr, et al might take note.

Boo to WordPress, Internet Explorer (Microsoft’s), and whatever else that has turned the photo ’embed’ from OneDrive into a mostly non-functional nightmare. Please use THIS LINK to SEE MORE Sea World pictures.

Here are links to the individual photos: Bird, aquarium, sea horse, Manta I, Manta II, Shamu I, Shamu IISea turtles, Manatees.

I trust the kiddies, and adults, are learning and appreciating our water-borne brethren whilst gleefully ogling the shows and rides.  I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and recommend it.  I will expound a little further on the tourist megalopolis that is Orlando in future posts.

Completely, totally unrelated, I stumbled upon a couple of noteworthy quotes recently:

‘Go to Heaven for the climate, Hell for the company.’– Mark Twain  (A quote I found here.)  Sometimes it seems like Twain said everything.  Our lives are enriched that he did.

‘It is said that no one truly knows a nation until one has been inside its jails. A nation should not be judged by how it treats its highest citizens, but its lowest ones.’ ― Nelson Mandela  (Quote found here.)  I’m not a Mandela fan per se but he had a point here.

Leave a comment