Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #97 – Pastimes

[Categories: Photography, Photography 101 Forever]

[A right-click might allow you to open a photo in a separate tab or window.]

The Lens-Artists Challenge is hosted this week by Sue (Mac’s girl).

Says she: “With so much time being spent at home, many of us have been looking for new pastimes or taking up old ones…”

I am rushing my first submission to press, since minutes ago m’lady and I finished one pastime, a JIGSAW PUZZLE!

1,000 pieces, 3 1/2 days of fairly dedicated puzzling. (It’s quite addictive and we are looking forward to doing another, not that we seek addictions!!)

Woo hooo! We haven’t done a jigsaw puzzle in ages. It was fun!

Enjoy, stay safe, be well.

Kudos to the tireless leaders of the weekly Lens-Artists challenge.

Weekly Challenge info from Tina:
“Each Saturday at noon EST we will publish a photo challenge similar in form to the now-defunct WPC. If you choose to participate, please make sure to tag your post with the name of our group LENS-ARTISTS so that all of the responses can be found together in the WP Reader. Please also include a link to the challenge moderator’s post. One of our 4 moderators will host the challenge each week.”
Week 1 – Patti of https://pilotfishblog.com/
Week 2 – Ann-Christine aka Leya of https://lagottocattleya.wordpress.com/
Week 3 – Amy of https://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/
Week 4 – Tina of https://travelsandtrifles.wordpress.com/
Check them out.  Also search for Lens-Artists to find posts.

51 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #97 – Pastimes

  1. Nice response, John! We enjoy doing puzzles too and are working on one right now. I love those Americana pictures, which work so well for jigsaws with their clear-cut lines and colors. Thanks so much for participating in the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations, John!!!

    I heard on the news that these days the purchase of puzzles had increased significantly… Seeing your enthusiasm, I’ll have to prove it. I haven’t made one in ages.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely jigsaw! At my work, before the lockdown, jigsaws were outselling books. And I’ve been thinking of getting one too, it’s been years since I made one. Relaxing pastime.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My wife and I also picked up on that pastime in the last few weeks. We are on our fourth, having just started the latest yesterday. When a friend learned we needed to quarantine for 14 days upon returning from Arizona, she dropped off a collection of hers for us to build. You are right, it is addictive.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats, John! A beautiful puzzle – and a lovely pastime. In fact I have started as well… First time since I was young. Finished one two weeks ago and on my way with a tougher one – just like you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was a good one. Hallmark brand. Autumn Hills. I will get Hallmark again. We started a Springbok brand puzzle. Don’t like it so far. VERY irregular pieces, including small border edges, and many don’t fit easily, even when it’s the right piece. It will take us longer!

      Like

  6. Puzzles are having quite a resurgence during the pandemic John – yours looks like tons of fun and a perfect opportunity for a challenge response! I have one sitting on my desk awaiting my attention 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I enjoyed this, John! I love jigsaw puzzles, too. Which one is next? 1,000 pieces or more? How difficult?…We’ll have to wait and find out. Maybe you’ll post the next one if you finish before the end of the week!

    Like

  8. we did a puzzle a few years ago while visiting my MIL – we all chipped away over a few days – and because of that I can appreciate what you both accomplished here – how fun and how awesome to be away from the screen and have something like this to do

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great response. We enjoy puzzles too but we have become hooked on ones called Wasgij where the picture on the front is not the picture you are creating but what is seen from someone’s eyes in the picture, solving the puzzle or looking into the future. Lot of fun and a good laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment