Lens-Artists Challenge #151 – From Large to Small

[Categories: Photography, Photography 101 Forever]

Per Patti …Pick a color and take several photos that feature that color.  Start with a photo of a big subject in that color (for example, a wall) and move all the way down to a small subject in that same color (for example, an earring).

Summer geraniums on our patio seem to fit the theme this week.

Whether I’m shooting far-off landscapes, or fairly close subjects, I frequently shoot 3 times: distance as seen, zoomed half-way, and zoomed as close as possible.

A week ago, on two consecutive days, I took pictures of the geraniums.

All shot from about 8 feet away, the first day was ‘normal’, then zoomed.

The next day it was raining lightly, so, from the same distance, I had the opportunity to get water drop shots that I much admire from other photographers:

Voila’. From Large to Small, with RED accent!

I rest my case.

Stay safe, be well, be kind to one another.

46 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #151 – From Large to Small

  1. Hey there – I love your post for so many reasons
    here are three reasons
    first – this is on eo fly favorite flowers – the wonderful geranium
    second, the creative way you chose to use the same subject and then zoom on in
    and third, the bricks – the reenlisted in the leaves and the droplets on the red – mmmmm – such good stuff

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha… nurseries still label them geraniums which really annoys me, but as you say they are still lovely and can be over wintered indoors, though usually treated as annuals.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment